Gratitude

So it has taken me three weeks to write another post but I was unsure of where to begin. People often say that you should just start and never mind thinking, but my problem was that I didn’t even know where to begin. I didn’t know what part of me I wanted to commence changing. Was I to start with a physical or mental change?

But that all changed when I came across this quote:

quote blog2

I realised upon reading this quote, that this is where my journey needed to begin, for I began to notice that I spend a lot of my time focusing on the bad things that have happened and the opportunities I missed. My attention is often focused on my friends  and their progress in their careers and their lives in general. They’ve finished college and are working. The majority are in a relationship and some are engaged. They’ve moved out of home and moved on with their lives. And yet here I am, someone who had a lot going for them when in school, but is now working a low-paying job and living at home. Reading this quote however, made me stop and think about how I was thinking. I acknowledged the negative way that I focused my thoughts and made a vow to change. If it wasn’t for my very generous and loving parents I wouldn’t have a roof over my head. If it wasn’t for my job I wouldn’t be able to save enough money to put me through college again. Being jealous of other people’s lives is normal but it’s important to note and remember that the life I live could make other people jealous too.

So in light of my recent epiphany, I have decided to get a gratitude journal. It’s nothing fancy, just a copy that I wasn’t using and every day for the next 14 days, I am going to write down 3 things in the morning and in the evening for which I am grateful for. For example, this morning I wrote that I am grateful for :

  1. the sun shining
  2. having pancakes for breakfast
  3. having a solid 8 hour sleep

I’m choosing to do this for 14 days as science says that it takes 14 days to make a habit and it also takes the same length of time to notice a change in yourself. It is gratitude that makes you happy and I am hoping that by starting this new habit, I will become more grateful and in turn more happy in myself.

Next week I will write a short blog post on how I get on with the gratitude journal:)

Leave a Reply

